This is the "Websites" page of the "20th Century American Music, History and Culture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

20th Century American Music, History and Culture   Tags: history, music, united states  

Mr. Anzuini's Music | Guide Created February 2012
Last Updated: Feb 20, 2013 URL: http://hamiltoneast.hamilton.libguides.com/modernmusic Print Guide RSS Updates

Websites Print Page
  Search: 
 

Add Websites to This Guide!

Found a great website for this project?  Share the wealth!  Post a link here for your classmates.  Thanks! :)


General Web Resources

General web resources are a good place to start your research.  These resources provide an overview of the subject, and frequently contain links to more detailed web resources. Start here to explore and choose your topic.

Digital Collections and Exhibitions

Digital collections, developed by scholars, librarians, and museum curators can be rich sources of primary documents, images, and multimedia content. Explore these sites for more information and inspiration on your chosen (or possible) topic(s).

  • 1920s Radio Network
    Listen to the 1920s Radio Network streaming online
  • Jazz in Time
    An excerpt from Ken Burns's documentary, "Jazz." Includes images and audio content.

Primary Sources on the Web

A primary source is a document or object created during the time period being studied.  Primary source documents include eyewitness accounts, original recordings of speeches, news reports and newsreels, official government records, letters, interviews, etc. Use these primary sources to support your thesis.

Note: Many primary sources are curated on the web.  Be careful to differentiate between information drawn from the primary source, and information contained in the interpretations or summaries that often accompany or introduce the material.

  • The Library of Congress American Memory Collection
    Includes historic documents, images, recordings, maps, etc., searchable by topic, time period, material or location. [Tip: Try browsing by topic (e.g., advertising, performing arts, music, sports, etc.), and then look at the dates for the collections in your results.]
  • Life Magazine | Google Books
    A digital archive of Life Magazine, known for its photojournalism and iconic images from the 20th century.

Your Librarian

Mrs. Rogers
Contact Info
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip