This is the "Home" page of the "Benoit Mandelbrot" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Benoit Mandelbrot   Tags: algebra_2, history, mathematics  

Ms. Falcone and Ms. Griggs | Algebra II | Guide Created October 2012
Last Updated: Dec 2, 2015 URL: http://hamiltoneast.hamilton.libguides.com/mandelbrot Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Your Assignment

Not sure what you need to do? Lost your handout? No worries!  Download a new copy of your assignment here.

Yale University Faculty Website

  • Benoit B. Mandelbrot
    Yale University profile page for Benoit B. Mandelbrot. Use the left hand navigation to find articles, books, interviews and images by and about Benoit B. Mandelbrot, including his full curriculum vitae.

Interviews and Videos

Web Resources

General web resources are a good place to start your research.  These resources provide an overview of the subject, and frequently contain links to more detailed web resources.

  • Wikipedia
    Wikipedia is a good place to start for an overview of Mandelbrot (or almost any topic), but be sure to verify the information you find on Wikipedia with another source. Use the information you learn on Wikipedia to guide your search for further information.
  • Encyclopedia.com
    Encyclopedia.com includes articles from several encyclopedias about Benoit Mandelbrot. Look for the menu tabs across of the article.
  • IBM100: Fractal Geometry
    Part of IBM's 100 Icons of Progress project. This site includes and overview, practical applications, and quotes from Benoit Mandelbrot.
  • National Academy of Sciences Biographical Memoir
    "Published since 1877, Biographical Memoirs provide the life histories and selected bibliographies of deceased National Academy of Sciences members. Colleagues familiar with the subject's work write these memoirs and as such, the series provides a biographical history of science in America."
 

Print Resources

The following print resources are available in the Hamilton Township Public Library.  (Tip:  This list is in MLA format for your works cited page.)

Devaney, Robert L., Linda Keen, and Kathleen T. Alligood. Chaos and Fractals: The Mathematics behind the Computer Graphics. Providence, RI: American Mathematical Society, 1989. Print.

Henderson, Harry. Modern Mathematicians. New York: Facts on File, 1996. Print.

Search Tips

Try keyword searches:

  • Benoit Mandelbrot
  • fractals
  • self similarity

Try searching other libraries:

Gale Biography in Context INACTIVE UNTIL FEB 2016

Search the Gale Biography in Context database (password: njsl) through the Hamilton Township Free Public Library and the New Jersey State Library.  This database has full text articles, web links, multimedia, and scholarly sources.

Your Librarian

Mrs. Rogers
Contact Info
Send Email

Add Websites to This Guide!

Found a great website about Mandelbrot?  Share the wealth!  Post a link here for your classmates.  :)

Fun With Fractals

Explore these websites for images of fractals and fractal generators.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip