This is the "Home" page of the "René Descartes" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

René Descartes  

Ms. Falcone and Ms. Grigg's Algebra II | Guide Created October 2011 | Revised January 2013
Last Updated: Jan 7, 2013 URL: http://hamiltoneast.hamilton.libguides.com/descartes Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Print Resources

The following print resources are available in the library.  (Tip:  This list is in MLA format for your works cited page.)

Beardsley, Monroe C. The European Philosophers from Descartes to Nietzsche. New York: Modern Library, 1960. Print.

Gimbel, Steven. René Descartes. Greensboro, NC: Morgan Reynolds Pub., 2009. Print.

Hampshire, Stuart. The Age of Reason; the 17th Century Philosophers, Selected, with Introd. and Interpretive Commentary. [New York]: New American Library, 1956. Print.

Magee, Bryan. The Story of Philosophy. New York: DK Pub., 1998. Print.

Magnusson, Magnus, and Rosemary Goring. Cambridge Biographical Dictionary. Cambridge: Cambridge UP, 1990. Print.

The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Biography; an International Reference Work. Vol. 3. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1973. Print.

Stangroom, Jeremy. Philosophy. Chicago: Chicago Review, 2007. Print.

Thorne, J. O. Chambers's Biographical Dictionary. New York: St. Martin's, 1962. Print.

General Web Resources

General web resources are a good place to start your research.  These resources provide an overview of the subject, and frequently contain links to more detailed web resources.

  • Wikipedia
    Wikipedia is a good place to start for an overview of Descartes (or almost any topic), but be sure to verify the information you find on Wikipedia with another source. Wikipedia is NOT to be used as a direct source of information for this project. Please use it strictly as a guide in the beginning stages of your research.
  • Biography.com
    Biography.com, a product of A&E Network and the Biography Channel, has information on 25,000 contemporary and historical figures.
  • Encyclopedia.com
    Encyclopedia.com includes articles from several encyclopedias, plus a Q&A tab for FAQs about René Descartes. Look for the menu tabs in the center of the page.

Scholarly Web Resources

These webpages explore topics in more detail and depth, are written by experts, researchers, and scholars, and are often peer-reviewed.

 

Search the EBSCO Biography Collection Complete

Login to EBSCOhost to search the Biography Reference Center database.

username:  hamiltoneast

password: steinert

Biography Collection Complete
 

Search Tips

Search Terms: (Use for computer searches)

Descartes AND biography

Subject Headings: (Use in library catalog and print indexes)

Descartes, René--Biography

Mathemeticians--Biography

Philosophers--Biography

Physicists--Biography

Call Numbers: (Use these to browse library shelves)

921 Descartes

B Descartes

Need help?

Mrs. Rogers, Librarian
Contact Info
Send Email

Add Websites to This Guide!

Found a great website about Descartes?  Share the wealth!  Post a link here for your classmates.  :)

Search Other Libraries

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip