This is the "Websites" page of the "GALRE 2015-2016" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

GALRE 2015-2016   Tags: constitution, history, law, supreme court, united states  

A collection of resources, focusing on primary sources, to aid in your research.
Last Updated: Nov 25, 2015 URL: http://hamiltoneast.hamilton.libguides.com/content.php?pid=688558 Print Guide RSS Updates

Websites Print Page
  Search: 
 

We The People

The companion website for the We The People text book and curriculum.

Using Quotations? Check here!

Famous and inspirational quotes on the open web are often misattributed or false.  Here are a few sites to confirm quotations.

  • Wikiquote
    Wikiquote is crowd-sourced, but heavily cited. It often links directly to the full text where a quotation originated.
  • Bartleby
    Bartleby.com includes a number of quotations collections in the reference tab. Use Bartleby.com to search Bartlett's Quotations, Respectfully Quoted, and other authoritative sources for quotations.

Add Websites to This Guide!

Found a great website for this project?  Share the wealth!  Post a link here for your classmates.  Thanks! :)

Open Web Resources

General web resources are a good place to start your research.  These resources provide an overview of the subject, and frequently contain links to more detailed web resources. Start here to explore and choose your topic.

  • National Archives: Charters of Freedom
    Includes articles, analysis, and full text of the charters, including the Virginia Declaration of Rights
  • One Hundred Milestone Documents
    "Compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration, and drawn primarily from its nationwide holdings. The documents chronicle United States history from 1776 to 1965."
  • Oyez
    From the website: "Oyez (pronounced oh-yay), a free law project at Chicago-Kent, is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone. It is a complete and authoritative source for all of the Court’s audio since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. Oyez exclusively offers transcript-synchronized and searchable audio, plain-English case summaries, illustrated decision information, and opinions. Oyez also provides detailed information on every justice throughout history and offers a panoramic tour of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of several justices."
  • Find Law: US Supreme Court Center
    Full Text of cases, dockets, decisions, orders, briefs, opinions, etc.
  • Supreme Court website

Primary Sources on the Web

A primary source is a document or object created during the time period being studied.  Primary source documents include eyewitness accounts, original recordings of speeches, news reports and newsreels, official government records, letters, interviews, etc. Use these primary sources to support your thesis.

Note: Many primary sources are curated on the web.  Be careful to differentiate between information drawn from the primary source, and information contained in the interpretations or summaries that often accompany or introduce the material.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Mrs. Rogers
Contact Info
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip